New measures for border enforcement (12)

The re-entry into Japan of foreign nationals with status of residence who have stayed in India, Nepal or Pakistan within 14 days prior to the application for landing will be denied for the time being unless there are special exceptional circumstances. The foregoing measure will be implemented from 0:00am (JST) on May 14, 2021.
(Note 1) Foreign nationals with the status of residence of “Permanent Resident”, “Spouse or Child of a Japanese National”, “Spouse or Child of a Permanent Resident” or “Long Term Resident”, who have departed Japan with Re-entry Permission by May 13 with intent to re-entry into Japan from those three countries, are treated as persons in special exceptional circumstances. This, however, is not applicable to foreign nationals who depart Japan on or after May 14. Foreign nationals with the status "Special Permanent Resident" are not within the scope of this entry ban.
(Note 2) The foregoing measures will not be applied to those who will depart those three countries before 0:00am (JST) on May 14, 2021 and arrive in Japan after this time.